Being In The Moment

Working full-time, with a household to maintain and a toddler to corral is a bit like my brief career as a waitress: I staggered about carrying as  much  as possible for as  long as  possible dropping as  little as possible.  But sooner or later, you’re going to drop a butter-knife on someone’s wedding outfit.

I don’t have  conversations about “quality-time” or balancing or juggling. These are concepts  that  belong to  lives in galaxies far, far away. As do those sentences “when I  get home,  he or she gets all of my attention.” Wow. Who does  everything else  and when?

On this  beautiful autumn morning, with the sun’s rays beating down  on us, something else  was illuminated  as  an answer to the how.  Monkey-face happily looked at her Moomin Little Book of Opposites and we talked about what she could see. The  answer I had known in my  head  took  shape in my heart. I realised it wasn’t what you do in your children’s  presence, but how present you are to them when  you’re doing it.

Have a great  day.

3 thoughts on “Being In The Moment

  1. I completely agree! Children can be exhausting no doubt – but in this day and age we are all too easily exhausted for one reason or another – we hardly know what we, ourselves, are doing one minute to the next. Just spending a few minutes introducing a puzzle or chatting about what to build with the lego can go a long way. We have to show a genuine interest in our child’s observations of the world. Thanks for posting!

    • Thank you so much for taking the trouble to read and comment. It’s gratfying to know I am not the only person who feels this way.Glad to invoke some nice memories

Leave a Reply

