The Sisters Brothers by Patrick de Witt

I had no knowledge of the subject matter when I started The Sisters Brothers by Patrick de Witt and it’s been a gem of a book. Gripping, engaging and a curiosity. The book is deeply atmospheric from the very first page and dripping in portent and mysticism: it felt like an epic, an Odyssey and because of this, I found myself reminded of Oh Brother Where Art Thou (although aside from the setting in time and – broadly – geography there is no similarity in plot) and No Country for Old Men. Yet the book isn’t derivative and each of the characters the brothers meet are richly drawn. I loved this book and still feel its absence a few days after I’ve finished it. It’s leaking into my next book, which is not bearing up well under the comparison.

This has simply been one of the best books I’ve read in the course of the last year.

Leave a Reply

