Book alarm

Before the alarm sounded this morning, I was rudely awoken by the Monkeyface this morning. “MuMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! MumEEEEEEEEEEEE! Come read the princess PLEASE”

I stumbled into her room, crashing into things in my exhaustion to find her grasping Sleeping Beauty, from a boxed set of traditional fairytales. I read it to her, cringing at how the princess would grow up beautiful, rescued by a prince, kissed awake and then married in order to live happily ever after and vowing that the book would shortly disappear into the book recycling box.

To my enormous relief, instead of begging for me to read this unPC nonsense again, she looked up at me “Monkey Puzzle, mummy?” and off she ran to get it.

She’s mine that’s for sure. Phew.

Leave a Reply

