Lessons

Some things in life just aren’t very good. And some people in life, it pains me to say, just aren’t very good either. In my experience, the former solutions often follow the latter as you try and soothe your soul after whatever meaness these types have emptied all over your head. But they don’t work. The only things that work are not caring and books. I’ve tried the not caring and – unfortunately for me – I’m crap at it. If I didn’t care, there wouldn’t have been pain to deal with in the first place. Books, though, they work. They last longer than booze and chocolate and they don’t give you a heart attack (unless you apply booze and chocolate as well as the books, as I do.) Even if it’s just to stop your head from running itself to a standstill, they work.

Today was a really, really upsetting day. I won’t bore any of us with the lowdown. But, I do know that I’m in a place where I’m responsible for how I handle this nonsense. So, I got out in the sunshine, I walked and I bought some books. Although not for me, I’ve heaps of books to be read that I haven’t read. Anyway, my coping mechanisms helped a bit: I at least didn’t feel 100% murderous. When I collected my daughter, though, the residual annoyance just vanished. When I told her I’d got some new books for her, her reply “Wow! I love books!” reminded me that amidst all of the grind and the individuals who would grind you down, there is real, precious beauty. Life is so short, it’s my duty to show the Monkey not to squander it on things of no value. She’s teaching me this daily and I am trying really hard not to foexamples reflect it back to her. I’m so, so pleased that she’s getting the book thing because they soothe as well as instruct.

Books we read today:

  • Captain Flinn and the Pirate Dinosaurs: Missing Treasure by Giles Andreae and Russell Ayto – pirates AND dinosaurs! WIN!
  • Fox’s Socks by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler – instant pop-up smash! With a fox!
  • Jack and The Beanstalk – “mummy it’s my favourite.” This week

Leave a Reply

