Good At Books

Yesterday was a bit of a special day. I got to see the Olympians’ parade in London (well, I stood at the back of a vast throng and saw some shapes dressed in red, white and blue trackies some way off) and like a hot-damn fool I stayed up til a ridiculous hour watching Andy Murray make history by winning the US Open.

In between all of that I put my lovely little daughter to bed and read her Jack and the Beanstalk. The minute she opened her eyes, this morning, she asked me for a story and blessed me with a change from Jack and the Beanstalk – we read the Elves and the Shoemaker instead! But before we did she asked me:

“Are YOU good at books, mummy?”

I think so, Monkey-face, I think so.

Leave a Reply

