Feel the Quality

This is bookandbed’s inaugural posting from my brand new MacBook Pro. Oooooh, feel the quality!

What a terrific day this, my 41st birthday, has been. My almost three year old now understands a bit about birthdays and sang Happy Birthday to me this morning, gushed appropriately over my gifts (“oooh, mummy, you’ve got a new compu-tah”) and was very very excited about birthday cake. Also, perhaps alarmingly for a toddler, she gifted me the somewhat jaw-dropping memoir by Keith Richards, called Life. Having read Caitlin Moran’s hilarious interview with the original 60’s survivor which recounted some of the book’s shocking contents, I cannot wait to get stuck in. Right after I’ve finished stroking this marvellous piece of kit.

 

 

 

Today was really wonderful. I took delivery of some new books for my daughter, one of which summed it up for me: Dr Seuss’ “Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?”

“Thank goodness for all of the things you are not!

Thank goodness you’re not something someone forgot,

and left all alone in some punkerish place

like a rusty tin coat hanger hanging in space”

I’m so grateful this birthday was so very different from the one I barely noticed a year ago. What a year it has been, and it is not over yet!

Leave a Reply

