H is for How the Hell Did I Not Know That?

Walking around with the kid wakes me up to how much I don’t know. Some days I think I know even less than I knew or thought I knew the day before.

Today we played “point out all the yellow things” on the way to school.
I pointed out a yellow grate on the pavement marked Fire Hydrant when I noticed that there was a big sign nearby. That we always use to point out “H.” Today I realised that they appear to be prevalent near… fire hydrants. I’ve walked past these signs every day of my life and never realised they signified where the water access was.

I mentioned this realisation to mrbookandbed when I got home and he gave me that look: “er, yeah. I knew that.”

I’m not sure I have the right qualifications to be a parent.

20130319-232203.jpg

Leave a Reply

