Not with the cool kids

Writing a post after a long break of not posting is a bit like going out for a drink with someone you used to see so much of, but you’ve both been out of contact for aeons. Will they still like you? Will they forgive you for not being able to drink several bottles of wine and not knowing any cool bars any more? Hopefully you rock up, a little shyly, and the reasons they actually liked you in the first place still exist, even if you no longer wear the nice shoes.

So, here’s my extremely uncool post after almost 2 months of silence. There has been reading, there has been laughter but mostly we’ve still been reading the same books we were reading the last time we met and trying to all get through the flat and house conveyancing in one piece. The monkey still wants the Mr Men, interspersed with some Wishing Chair adventures (we’ve almost made it to the second book – just a few pages away.) I guess this is what happens when they start to have a mind of their own – they want fishfingers for every meal, are not on speaking terms with vegetables and will wear the pink open-toed sparkly shoes, damn you, whether it’s raining or not.

But all other human endeavour has been sucked into the vortex that is selling and buying a home. It’s been less of a roller-coaster, more of a haunted house kind of ride so far. I’m ashamed to say, that I have finished precisely no books of my own this year. I see long train journeys in my future, however, and so there will be time to make it up to my intellect. But for now, I’ve been awake since 4.30am worrying that the roofers still aren’t on the roof of the house I want to sell, fretting that we haven’t got our hands on  the draft lease extension that has cost more than my extremely expensive wedding reception and grinding my teeth away in the knowledge that every day that passes brings us closer to our mortgage agreement’s expiry.

But, I promise I will try harder and find some nice cool bars books for us, next time I write. I may even wear something nice for you. Then again, I may still look like the mad old woman who decided to have a wee in our drive yesterday. But as you long as we still like each other, that will be ok, won’t it?

Leave a Reply

