Influence

All we’ve been reading for the last three weeks, Mr Men aside, is There’s a House Inside My Mummy by Giles Andreae and Vanessa Cabban. It’s a really lovely book that helps prepare a young child for the imminent disruption of a new sibling.

I liked it, but the Monkey adores it. She quotes it all of the time and I can see it help her make sense of her changing world. It’s made really light work of telling her a brother or sister is on the way with the possible exception of her announcing an unfortunate line from the book to a line of mainly waiting dads at her nursery school: “I’ve got to be patient because it’s rather tight.” Eek!

Fast forward to breaking the news, yesterday, that she’ll soon have a little brother. The Monkey dropped her head, disappointed and declared, quietly “oh, I wanted a girl. Can I watch tv now, please?” Her reaction was not unexpected, but I still felt really sad.
When bed-time came, she asked for There’s a House Inside My Mummy and, when it finished, softly spoke into my tummy “Goodnight, baby. I love you.”
How will it ever be possible to love someone new as much as I love her?

Leave a Reply

