Breakfast of Champions

Today is my daughter’s last day of her nursery school.
It’s a portentous day – already more goodbyes, so soon after our last gut-wrenching move – but she seems to be taking it in her stride, rather more so than her mother, as is often the way of kids.

As I was rushing about, sorting out the things I realise I’ve forgotten to sort out, my daughter had bought a book down to breakfast. Significantly, she’s selected one of my favourite books: The Snail and the Whale.
I’m listening to mrbookandbed read this wonderful buoyant story to her with an enormous lump in my throat:

“And they sang to the sea as they all set sail
On the tail of the grey-blue humped-back whale.”

Excuse me, I’ve got something in my eye …

20140718-075339-28419750.jpg

Leave a Reply

