Perfect Partners – favourite children’s illustrated books

3 years since I started this blog, it’s hard to believe that the baby with whom I struggled to share books insists on reading together, morning and night and is taking her own first steps into reading and spelling as she prepares to start school in two weeks’ time. 

For children of this age, the familiar is still preferred. And so, newly purchased books often languish on the shelf, making a blog about your shared book experiences either venture into the personal impact or the deeply mundane. Yes. We ARE still reading Mr Men books. Every day. Care to read about it?  

However, my dear friend who teaches would-be teachers how to teach art, asked me a classic question, yesterday. What would be my top 5 illustrated children’s books, where the illustrations work magnificently with the text? The fact that so many of them are classics or have been in our possession for quite a long time made me decide I’d best step it up.

Here they are, in order only of recollection: 

1. Crazy Hair by Neil Gaiman and Dave McLean

2. The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson and Axel Schaeffler

3. The Heart and the Bottle by Oliver Jeffers (in fact, anything by Oliver Jeffers)

4. I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

5. Good Little Wolf by Nadia Shireen

6. Meg and Mog by Helen Nicoll and Jan Pienkowski  – I can’t count…

What are yours? 

Leave a Reply

